The Sunrise I Left

I spin, I weave
With the wheels of the world,
When there’s will and wish
To tide for my own.

I shift, I strain
With a blinded aim,
So much to be written
Much more to be tamed.

And they said, it’s a life led alone
After dusk there shall be dawn.
So I lived, lived with the shadows
While waiting for the sun.

And so they decide my fate
Fill me with fears,
And they cry for my fortune
A fortune that wears.

A rhythm that I search
The symphony that’s lost,
The power to rise
Or an illusion at most.

But they said, it’s a life led alone
After dusk there shall be dawn,
So I lived, lived with the shadows
While waiting for the sun.

And then one dusk
She came, She saw.
She touched and She healed
This forsaken soul.

So I turned with her
The wheels had spun
In a lead,
Of lucid unknown.

And it was a life led alone
‘Til I saw the light of dawn,
So I let go of the shadows
For now, my sun had shone.

But they all came back
The same old fears,
I spun with the wheel
I left us in tears.

And they said, it’s a life led alone
After dusk there shall be dawn,
So I lived, lived with the shadows
Never again hoping for a sun.

Now, seems a lifetime later
It’s all but a haze,
As I look to the ground
And my shattered glass of Velvet.

Walking by myself,
I recall they said
It’s a life led alone.
And after dusk, there shall be dawn.
So I search the sky over my head
For a glimpse of the sunrise,
Somewhere I’d left.

Leave a Reply

