A Life Well Lived

There’s reason to believe
All the wisdom we’ve seen,
All our stakes and all our triumphs
Have so rushed, and not as been.

For if life were a privilege
And not a given right
Bound by worth
The unknown couldn’t excite.

We took to ours
So willfully and strong.
All the virtue of it
Faded and gone.

cropped-28280_439921325398_610270398_6193300_485061_n.jpg

Time is brutal
They say.
Forge ahead
They say.
Steady, my vision
Empty is my gaze.
So I seek
And as much I get.
Time is cold
As much I forget.

Lost is the parody
On many and much
Reckless are we
To the lover’s touch.
Pardon me, my presumed
Hold the fort.
While I conquer some
And many a more.

And tonight I glimpse through
The blurs of a lived life.
If I revered them replete
Maybe they could stay a while.
Regretful reflections
In my humble glass of wine.
A life well lived,
They say.
Only if it weren’t mine.

Leave a Reply

